Loan to MCE: Supporting microfinance institutions in developing countries

Multi-country Global Cambodia Indonesia Mongolia Myanmar Philippines Sri Lanka BoliviaCosta Rica Ecuador Haïti Guatemala Honduras Nicaragua Peru Salvador Uruguay Armenia Azerbaijan Georgia Kazakhstan Kosovo Moldova Uzbekistan Tajikistan Burkina Faso Ghana Kenya Mauritania Mali Democratic Republic of Congo Sierra Leone
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
femme, microfinance, cambodge
MCE Social Capital, a non-profit corporation, finances microfinance institutions which support women microentrepreneurs in rural areas and SMEs with strong social impacts.
Client presentation

MCE Social Capital is a non-profit corporation registered in California. It was set up in 2005 with the aim of contributing to reducing poverty by mobilizing private investment capital to support microenterprises in developing countries.
MCE mainly achieves this objective by financing microfinance institutions (MFIs) which serve a high percentage of women in rural areas and/or those which offer training programs to their borrowers. 

Project description

The project involves a USD 8m senior debt allocated to MCE Social Capital.

Project impact

MCE was set up to support small and medium-sized MFIs which assist microentrepreneurs located in rural areas and/or women, via financial and non-financial services. It is estimated that over the next 5 years, PROPARCO’s support will allow MCE to give 111,000 people access to microcredit in at least 35 different countries. 
MCE also finances SMEs with strong social impacts (access to water and clean energy and agricultural value chains), as well as projects for women’s empowerment. 
It is also estimated that the investment by MCE Social Capital will support or create indirect jobs and will have a strong knock-on effect on local economies.

09/05/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Global Cambodia Indonesia Mongolia Myanmar Philippines Sri Lanka BoliviaCosta Rica Ecuador Haïti Guatemala Honduras Nicaragua Peru Salvador Uruguay Armenia Azerbaijan Georgia Kazakhstan Kosovo Moldova Uzbekistan Tajikistan Burkina Faso Ghana Kenya Mauritania Mali Democratic Republic of Congo Sierra Leone
Location
Financing tool
6 609 931 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 8m
Financing details
MCE SOCIAL CAPITAL
Client
CES

Multi-Pays Etranger Cambodge Indonésie Mongolie Myanmar Philippines Sri Lanka BolivieCosta Rica Equateur Haïti Guatemala Honduras Nicaragua Pérou Salvador Uruguay Arménie Azerbaïdjan Géorgie Kazakhstan Kosovo Moldavie Ouzbékistan Tadjikistan Burkina Faso Ghana Kenya Mauritanie Mali République Démocratique du Congo Sierra Leone

Prêt à MCE : soutenir les institutions de microfinance dans les pays en développement

  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
femme, microfinance, cambodge
Société à but non lucratif, MCE Social Capital finance des institutions de microfinance qui soutiennent des femmes micro-entrepreneures en zone rurale et des PME à fort impact social.
Présentation du client

MCE Social Capital est une société sans but lucratif enregistrée en Californie. Elle a été créée en 2005 dans le but de contribuer à la réduction de la pauvreté en mobilisant des capitaux d'investissement privés pour soutenir des microentreprises dans les pays en développement. 
MCE réalise cet objectif principalement en finançant des institutions de microfinance (IMFs) qui servent un pourcentage élevé de femmes, dans les zones rurales et/ou celles qui offrent des programmes de formation à leurs emprunteurs. 

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en une dette senior de 8 M USD accordé à MCE Social Capital.

Impact du projet

MCE a été créée afin d’accompagner des IMF petites et moyennes qui soutiennent des micro-entrepreneurs situés en zone rurale et/ou des femmes, à travers des services financiers et non financiers. On estime que d'ici 5 ans, le soutien de Proparco permettra à MCE de donner accès à un microcrédit à 111 000 personnes dans au moins 35 pays différents.
MCE finance également les PME à fort impact social (accès à l’eau et à l’énergie propre et chaînes de valeur agricoles) ainsi que les projets pour l'émancipation des femmes.
On estime également que l'investissement de MCE Social Capital permettra de soutenir ou de créer des emplois indirects et aura un fort effet d'entrainement sur les économies locales.

09/05/2018
Date de signature du projet
Outils de financement
6 609 931 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 8 MUSD
Details du financement
MCE SOCIAL CAPITAL
Client
CES