• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet FirstRand
Proparco has allocated a senior credit line to FirstRand Bank, a longstanding partner, to support SME development in South Africa. The bank specifically wants to target the most disadvantaged entrepreneurs.
Client presentation

FRB is a universal bank which has developed several franchises: First National Bank for retail banking, Rand Merchant Bank for merchant banking and investment and Westbank for leasing. FRB is a longstanding partner of AFD Group and Proparco, since the agency opened in 1994, and it has been allocated several credit lines.

Project description

The project involves a new USD 30m senior credit line to provide long-term resources in USD to SMEs. It is part of a more extensive USD 90m credit line, alongside DEG, which will act as lead arranger, and OeEB (Austrian DFI). The loan structuring (maturity, margin) is exactly the same as for the previous line allocated to FRB in 2012.

Project impact
This project will support the development of the SME sector in South Africa. Indeed, FRB is seeking to develop its activities in this segment and has set up specific programs to support SMEs from disadvantaged communities, such as the Black Economic Empowerment Program. Concerning employment, the project will contribute to creating 5,000 direct jobs in the bank (60% of which will be held by women) and maintaining some 4,700 jobs with the bank's SME clients.
18/08/2016
Date of signature of the project
South Africa
Location
Financing tool
26 995 411 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 30m
Financing details
FIRSTRAND BANK LIMITED
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet FirstRand
Proparco accorde à Firstrand Bank, partenaire de longue date, une ligne de crédit senior pour soutenir le développement des PME en Afrique du Sud. La banque souhaite particulièrement cibler les entrepreneurs les plus défavorisés.
Présentation du client

FRB est une banque universelle qui a développé plusieurs franchises : First National Bank pour la banque de détail, Rand Merchant Bank pour la banque d'affaires et d'investissement et Westbank pour le leasing. FRB est un partenaire historique du groupe AFD et de Proparco depuis l'ouverture de l’agence en 1994 et plusieurs lignes de crédit lui ont été octroyées.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en une nouvelle ligne de crédit senior d’un montant de 30 MUSD pour apporter des ressources longues en dollars aux PME. Il s’inscrit dans un financement plus large de 90MUSD aux côtés de la DEG qui agirait en chef de file et d’OeEB (DFI autrichienne). La structuration de ce prêt (maturité, marge) est identique à celle de la précédente ligne accordée à FRB en 2012.

Impact du projet

Ce projet soutiendra le développement du secteur des PME en Afrique du Sud. FRB souhaite en effet développer ses activités dans ce segment, et a mis en place des programmes spécifiques de soutien à des PME de populations défavorisées, comme par exemple le Black Economic Empowerment Program. En ce qui concerne l'emploi, le projet contribuera à la création de 5000 postes directs au sein de la banque (dont 60% seront occupés par des femmes) et au maintien de près de 4700 emplois au niveau des PME clientes de la banque.

18/08/2016
Date de signature du projet
Outils de financement
26 995 411 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 30 MUSD
Details du financement
FIRSTRAND BANK LIMITED
Client
CES
afrique du sud

Un nouveau prêt en 2018 pour accompagner les PME sud-africaines

Cette nouvelle ligne de crédit permettra à FirstRand Bank, partenaire historique de Proparco, de financer davantage de PME, qui restent les principales pourvoyeuses d’emplois en Afrique du Sud.