CAMIF II: A venture capital fund for infrastructure in Latin America and the Caribbean

Belize Colombia Costa Rica Haïti Guatemala Honduras Jamaica Mexico Nicaragua Panama Salvador Multi-country Latin America and the Caribbean
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
CAMIF II, un fonds de capital-développement pour les infrastructures en Amérique latine et aux Caraïbes
CAMIF II, a development capital fund managed by EMP Latin America, finances infrastructure projects in Central America, the Caribbean, Mexico and Colombia. It targets SMEs leading greenfield projects.
Client presentation
EMP Latin America (Emerging Markets Partnership Latin America) is one of the main fund managers in Latin America and the Caribbean. Its subsidiary, LAP Latin America Partners LLC, has been managing the CAMIF I fund since 2008 and, building on this success, will be in charge of managing the second fund, CAMIF II, which has similar characteristics.
Project description
Proparco invested in the mezzanine and private equity fund CAMIF II during its first closing. The aim of this fund will be to invest in infrastructure projects, with a focus on the sectors of energy, transport, telecommunications, water and sanitation, health and education. It will operate in the Central America, Caribbean, Mexico and Colombia zone, and will target SMEs and greenfield projects.
Project impact
This operation will support infrastructure development in Latin America, particularly in Central America, where it suffers from chronic underinvestment. It will also improve access to capital for SMEs and greenfield projects, which have difficulty obtaining financing. In addition, it will contribute to developing environmental and social (E&S) best practices in the region, as the CAMIF II fund has adopted high international E&S standards.
14/05/2014
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Belize Colombia Costa Rica Haïti Guatemala Honduras Jamaica Mexico Nicaragua Panama Salvador Multi-country Latin America and the Caribbean
Location
Financing tool
8 236 554 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 10m
Financing details
Central American Mezzanine Infrastructure Fund II
Client
CES

Belize Colombie Costa Rica Haïti Guatemala Honduras Jamaïque Mexique Nicaragua Panama Salvador Multi-Pays Amérique latine et Caraïbes

CAMIF II, un fonds de capital-développement pour les infrastructures en Amérique latine et aux Caraïbes

  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
CAMIF II, un fonds de capital-développement pour les infrastructures en Amérique latine et aux Caraïbes
CAMIF II, un fonds de capital-développement géré par EMP Latin America, finance des projets d’infrastructures en Amérique centrale, aux Caraïbes, au Mexique et en Colombie. Il s’adresse aux PME porteuses de projets greenfield.
Présentation du client

EMP Latin America (Emerging Markets Partnership Latin America) est un des principaux gestionnaires de fonds d’Amérique Latine et des Caraïbes. Sa filiale LAP Latin America Partners LLC gère depuis 2008 le fonds CAMIF I, et forte de ce succès, sera chargée de la gestion du deuxième fonds aux caractéristiques similaires, CAMIF II.

Description du projet

Proparco a investi dans le fonds de mezzanine et de capital-développement CAMIF II lors de son premier closing. Ce fonds aura pour objectif d'investir dans des projets d'infrastructures, notamment dans les secteurs de l'énergie, des transports, des télécommunications, de l'eau et assainissement, de la santé et de l'éducation. Il sera actif sur la zone Amérique Centrale, Caraïbes, Mexique et Colombie, et ciblera des PME et des projets de nature "greenfield".

Impact du projet

Cette opération viendra soutenir le développement des infrastructures en Amérique Latine, et en particulier en Amérique Centrale, où celles-ci souffrent d’un sous-investissement chronique. Par ailleurs, elle améliorera l'accès au capital des PME et des projets de type "greenfield" - qui rencontrent des difficultés à se financer. Elle contribuera également à l’essor des meilleures pratiques environnementales et sociales (E&S ) dans la région, le fonds CAMIF II ayant adoptés des normes E&S internationales élevées.

14/05/2014
Date de signature du projet
Outils de financement
8 236 554 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 10 MEUR
Details du financement
Central American Mezzanine Infrastructure Fund II
Client
CES